Gratitude, Prompt, Practice

I have been itching to write to you. The trouble is I don’t know what to write.

My life has not been particularly exciting. Very busy. School, thesis, women’s conference, research, serving as a teaching assistant, leading workshops and classes, note taking, visiting family. But, I don’t want to write about any of that. At least not right now. It has all been satisfying and important work, but it seems so ordinary. Don’t get me wrong, I think the ordinary is really quite extraordinary, but do you want to read about it?

I’ve been thinking about how much I miss writing to you. How much I love connecting with people from around the world through the simple act of sharing language. I want to offer you something you will love. Something that will resonate with your soul.

I have thought about re-instating my daily gratitude lists. Calling out the beauty and blessing that surrounds us.  Those things we all too often take for granted. Things like flower pots, running water, heat, litter boxes, books with pages, pie. That was a good practice and one I enjoyed sharing. It has great power to carry us through the cold, dark winter.

And there is writing practice. I write everyday. Everyday I put my pen to paper whether you see it or not. Mostly you don’t see it because I write things like: Today I stayed in bed and watched holiday-themed romantic comedies or the cats don’t like daylight savings time, it has messed with their food schedule or I’m tired, my back hurts, I have too much homework, blah, blah, blah. Seriously, sometimes I write “blah, blah, blah” in my journal. But, what if I brought writing practice to you? A dear writing friend of mine kept a daily blog for one full year with a new writing prompt each day. Sometime her writing prompts were based on quotes, sometimes from her life experiences, sometimes from observations of nature. Her year has ended and I miss her daily prompts. I could bring prompts here, in honor of her, in honor of our writing teacher, in honor of writing.

I could talk to you about spiritual practice. What is working for me. What is not. Meditation, Sabbath-keeping, Storytelling and Storylistening, prayer, drumming, playing with cats, smudging, singing, walking. I can share my spiritual life with you through writing – which is the greatest of my personal spiritual practices.

Or I can bring you a smattering of it all. A little gratitude, a little writing prompt, a little spiritual practice. I mean – this blog is called Pen, Paper, Prayer afterall. I suppose I can slip the word “Gratitude” in there too.

But, because I cannot decide where to take this blog, I will let you decide. It’s you I am writing for. It’s you I want to connect with. So, tell me, how best can we connect? What do you want to see in your inbox every morning?

2 thoughts on “Gratitude, Prompt, Practice

  1. I loved it when you did gratitude lists before because it made me do it. I already do writing practice everyday so I don’t need any help with that. Or just write us little stories about your life: spiritual moments, moments of gratitude, writing moments. We all blah-blah from time to time if we are honest. I’ve missed your blog and had to start one of my own. And in case you don’t know who writes “The Kale Chronicles,” c’est moi, Sharyn Dimmick, one of Natalie’s students.

Leave a Reply

