Welcome 2012!

When the clock chimed midnight on January 1st, 2012 I breathed a great sigh of relief. Finally, 2011 was over. I don’t think I’ve ever felt so much peace to see one year end and another begin.

2011 was hard. It was a time of great transition and change and unexpected loss. It was also a time of major life lessons. I am a better person for it. I did not hide from the struggle these lessons brought into my life. I faced them with a great desire for healing. I wrote everyday. I wrote through the struggle even when my pen didn’t want to touch paper.

It was not easy journeying through page after page of blank paper. But, the writing opened me up to the love that I hold within my own heart – a love I am willing to share with the world. I am learning about forgiveness and letting go, about self-love and acceptance. I am discovering the beauty in darkness, in waiting, in allowing and in listening to my own sacred voice – that steady calm that resides in my soul.

I feel good.

I have nowhere to go, but forward. Forward in healing and loving, writing and creating. I have the opportunity to forge new connections, deep friendships, and authentic living. I have the opportunity to share the depth of my own life with this beautiful world I feel so grateful to be a part of. I continue to be gentle with myself and open my heart with tremendous courage.

I enter into this new year remembering the words of Forrest Gump, “I know what love is.” May we all remember what love is and bring more of it into our daily lives. Whether through the swift writing of fast moving pens, the creation of good food, snuggling on the couch with a beloved person or pet (or both), or through the simple act of prayer.

May our year be one of increased peace, love, and healing and may our suffering be eased.

3 thoughts on “Welcome 2012!

  1. Love this post Melissa. Your writing is heartfelt and inspirational. Thanks for sharing. Wish you the very best 2012 🙂

  2. You bring joy and wisdom to me with each post. Thank you my darling niece!Snuggling with my beloved pet is wonderful, but I’m old. I wish for you to find your true soulmate in 2012. I know there is someone out there for you; someone who will add to your life, not subtract, someone who is as trustworthy as you are trusting. Bless you my dear girl. Happy new year.

Leave a Reply

