Returning

20131204-195358.jpg
It has been a long time and I have missed writing to you. Here is my brief update, in no particular order:

My last post, “Church of Frida” was published in the Fall 2013 issue of Yellow Medicine Review. As a result, it was also nominated for a Pushcart Prize. Many thanks to YMR editor, Judy Wilson, for the nomination. It is a great honor.

I completed my thesis, miraculously on time (albeit Indian Time) and presented it at the 2012 MU colloquium to a standing ovation, minimal tears, big smiles, and the feeling of completely embodying the story I had to tell.

I graduated with a Master’s degree in Divinity, a graduate certificate in Theological Studies, and a graduate certificate in Pastoral Care.

I attended and completed a one year (four unit) chaplain residency program (aka Clinical Pastoral Education aka CPE) at a forensic mental health institution where I specialized in the spiritual care of elders and Native peoples.

I am now completely finished with my adventures in higher learning and am working on recovery.

I’m exhausted. Who am I after all of that? After five years of institutionalized learning? After five years of “think, think, think?” What I need now is un-learning. What I need now is a return to heart-centered living. I am looking for small ways to return to balance. Small ways to return to myself. Small ways to spark my creativity.

So, I begin with you, dear reader. Come with me as I re-discover my passion for story, for writing, for Mama God without all the fuss of academia.

2 thoughts on “Returning

Leave a Reply

