Ancestors

20131203-215219.jpg

This is a photo of my great-great-great grandparents Isaac McCoy (Ottawa) and Mary Thorpe McCoy (Sac and Fox). The little boy is their grandson, my great-grandfather. The photo was taken in 1900 at the Sac and Fox agency.

These are only three of my many ancestors. It is good to know where we come from. It is good to remember all the connections that had to happen in order for us to be here. In this way we remember that every life is precious, that each of us is a miracle.

10 thoughts on “Ancestors

  1. My gr grandparents were Isaac and Mary (Thorpe) McCoy with Isaac being Ottawa and Mary being Sac and Fox. I would love to correspond with all of you about them.

  2. Maxine Mccoy Ulrey was my grandmother. She is the daughter of Daniel McCoy and Mary Rosengrant McCoy. She was on the Sac and Fox roles along with Daniel McCoy, my mother, Mary Alice Ulrey Felton and, myself, Joe Felton.

    • Hi Joe,
      I did a little more research and found that your grandmother, Maxine, and my great-grandfather, Glenn, were first cousins. Mary Thorpe McCoy (pictured here, at least according to the stories on my side of the family) was your great-great grandmother. Daniel’s mother.

      It is wonderful to “meet” you and I am glad you stumbled onto my blog.

      Wishing you well,
      Melissa

      • Melissa,
        My grandpa was David McCoy Jr. My great grandpa was David McCoy Sr. My great great grand parents were Isaac and Mary. Do you know the little boys name in the picture?

      • Hi Maggie and Carrie!

        It is wonderful to hear from you both! And fantastic that we have all connected thanks to this photo. According to my side of the family, the little boy in the photo is my great-grandfather, Glenn Lewis. There is some debate, however, with another branch of the family as to the identity of the little boy. But, the photo is in my auntie’s living room and on the back says It is Mary, Isaac, and Glenn. 🙂 So happy to “meet” you both and I apologize for the delay in response. Hope you are well!

        ~Melissa

Leave a Reply

